English
Log in
English
Documentation
Help > Solve > Projects > Project details

Project details

When you select a project to view, you’ll see that project’s details. A project details page looks like this:

The project details page

  1. Basic project details
  2. Project core-hours and summary
  3. Versions & history
  4. Project collaborators

Where you have archived a project, most of the options on this page are disabled, save for the option to unarchive the project. See Archive a project.

Basic details

This section shows basic project details. You can also archive or delete a project from here.

Only a project owner can edit these details or delete a project. For more information about project permissions, see project collaborators.

Edit a project name or description

  1. Select and then Edit Project.
  2. Update the name and/or description.
  3. Select .

You can set the thumbnail image from the Modeler.

Archive a project

You can archive projects that you’re not working on anymore. This hides them from my projects on the Projects page and also disables the ability to edit them. You can, however, still access archived projects, and you can choose to unarchive them at any time.

Archiving does not affect your team: when you archive a project, any other owners of that project will still see the project in their my projects. Archiving is simply a way for you to “tidy up” your own my projects.

To archive a project, select and then Archive.

To unarchive a project, select and then Unarchive.

Delete a project

  1. Select and then Delete Project.
  2. Select DELETE PROJECT.

Deleting a project is irreversible! Everything associated with the project will be deleted.

If there’s a chance you might need the project again, consider archiving it instead to hide it from view.

Open the Modeler

To open the Modeler, select The Modeler button. This opens the most recently created design version.

Project core-hours and summary

This section shows other basic project details, including information about core-hour spend and allocation.

Allocating core-hours to a project helps you to manage your team’s spend on that project. Where a simulation study’s estimated core-hour spend exceeds the remaining number of core-hours allocated to the project, the simulation study will not run.

Allocate core-hours to a project

  1. Select .
  2. Enter the number of core-hours to allocate.
  3. Select .

Only a project owner can allocate core-hours to a project. For more information about project permissions, see project collaborators.

Versions & history

OnScale Solve keeps an extensive version history for each project and allows you to create branches to experiment with different designs.

Each project can consist of multiple designs, and each design can consist of multiple versions.

What are designs and versions?

A design represents one possible form of a model. Let’s say you’re designing a product and have two possible designs that you want to simulate and compare. You would have one project for this product, and in this project you would create two designs.

A version is a record of the state of a particular design at a particular point in time. A new version is automatically created when you make edits to a design after running a simulation study (for example, you change a material). This ensures that you always have a copy of the state of a model at the time that you ran the simulation study.

On the project details page, a design is visualized as a branch and a version is visualized as a point on this branch:

Versions and history

In the above screenshot there are three designs:

  • Design 1: Automatically created when you create a new project. This branch has two versions, including the most recently created design version (Auto Saved at …), which is shown at the top.
  • Design 2: Created by cloning Version 1 of Design 1. This branch has one version.
  • Design 3: A new blank design (i.e. it wasn’t created by cloning an existing design version). This branch has one version.

Create a new design

  1. Select New Design.
  2. Leave the Origin Version as Root to create a blank design or else select an existing design version to clone this.
  3. Set the Design Name, Version Description, and Version Name as required.

    These fields are automatically populated. However, providing your own names and descriptions can make it easier to identify designs and versions later.

  4. Select CREATE.

You can also clone a design version as follows:

  1. Select a version of an existing design.
  2. Select and then Clone Version.

Edit the name/description of a design or version

  1. Select a design version.
  2. Select and then Edit Version.
  3. Set the Design Name, Version Description, and Version Name as required.
  4. Select SUBMIT.

Open a specific version of a design in the Modeler

On a desktop or laptop, hover over the design version you want to open and then select .

Alternatively on any device follow these steps:

  1. Select the design version.
  2. Select The Modeler button.

Archive a design or version

You can archive designs and versions to prevent any further work being done on them.

An archived design version cannot be edited by you or your team. You can, however, still access archived design versions, and you can choose to unarchive them at any time.

Archive a version

  1. Select a design version.
  2. Select and then Archive.

If the design version is the design’s only version, the design will also automatically be archived.

Archive a design

  1. Select any version of the design.
  2. Select and then Archive Design.

Restore an archived design or version

To restore an archived design or version, follow the steps for archiving but select Unarchive or Unarchive Design.

Project collaborators

With Team and Enterprise accounts, multiple users can collaborate on a project. This functionality is not available with Free accounts.

For other users in your team to see a project that you have created, you must add them as a collaborator. A collaborator can be assigned one of three permission levels for the project:

  • Can View: The collaborator can view the project but cannot make changes to it.
  • Can Edit: The collaborator can create and edit designs and versions but cannot perform other actions such as editing the project’s name or description; allocating core-hours to the project; archiving or deleting the project; or adding other collaborators to the project.
  • Owner: The collaborator has full control over the project.

To add or remove collaborators, you must be a project owner.

Add collaborators

  1. Select Add Collaborators.
  2. Beside the name of a collaborator that you want to add, select .
  3. Use the dropdown to set the permission level that the collaborator should have for this project.
  4. Repeat steps 2 and 3 for any other collaborators that you want to add.
  5. Select SUBMIT.

Edit or remove collaborator

  1. Select a collaborator then select and Edit.
  2. To edit the collaborator’s permission level, use the dropdown.
  3. To remove the collaborator from the project, select .
  4. Select SUBMIT.